Illinois roadways are some of the safest in the county thanks to strict laws on drunk and impaired driving. This means that driving under the influence (DUI) in Illinois can have significant consequences. If it’s your first offense, you can receive a sentence of up to one year in jail, up to two years of supervision, and fines of up to $2,500. There are also numerous conditions under which you may be charged with a felony DUI, which has harsher consequences.
If you’re driving under the influence and are involved in a crash or caused serious injuries, your driving privileges may be revoked. In addition, your auto insurance provider may drop your coverage and refuse to renew your coverage if your license has been suspended or revoked due to a DUI. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Illinois and need guidance on where to go from here regarding your insurance coverage, contact our American Auto Insurance experts to learn more.
DUIs in Illinois
According to the “2022 Illinois DUI Fact Book” published by the Office of the Secretary of State, statistics of DUIs in Illinois for the year 2020 are as follows:
- The Secretary of State’s Office recorded 20,131 arrests for DUIs.
- 254 people were killed in alcohol-related accidents.
- 86% of drivers arrested for DUIs were first-time offenders.
- Males between the ages of 21 and 24 had the highest arrest rate for DUIs.
- 25% of DUI arrests were women.
- 244 drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 lost their driving privileges due to the Zero Tolerance Law.
- 90% of drivers who were arrested for DUI lost their driving privileges.
DUI Penalties in Illinois
Penalties for DUI convictions in Illinois vary based on the arrest circumstances, including your age, blood alcohol level, whether you had a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle while driving under the influence, whether you have previous DUI convictions, and whether you were going the wrong way on a one-way road. Any DUI offense that results in felony charges will be classified as a DUI. In addition, DUIs are recognized by the state of Illinois as violent crimes, which means victims of DUI are identified as victims of violent crimes.
In addition to having your license suspended or revoked, you may also face the following penalties for driving under the influence in Illinois. If caught driving with a suspended or revoked license, you may face additional jail time, fines, an increased period for your license to be suspended, and even seizure or forfeiture of your vehicle.
DUIs can be classified as a misdemeanor or felony with the following consequences:
- Class A misdemeanor: Possible imprisonment of up to one year in jail and fines of up to $2,500.
- Class 4 felony: Possible imprisonment of one to three years and fines up to $25,000. If an aggravated DUI involves injury, you may face up to 12 years of imprisonment and fines of up to $25,000.
- Class 3 felony: Possible imprisonment of two to five years and fines of up to $25,000.
- Class 2 felony: If convicted of DUI, you may face imprisonment between three and seven years and fines up to $25,000. If charged with aggravated DUI with one death, you may face imprisonment of three to 14 years and fines up to $25,000.
- Class 1 felony: Possible imprisonment of four to 15 years and fines of up to $25,000.
- Class X felony: Imprisonment of six to 30 years and fines of up to $25,000.
Driver’s License Suspension and Revocation in Illinois
Drivers charged with DUI and those involved in an accident resulting in serious injury or death may have their driving privileges revoked without a hearing. This happens when the Secretary of State’s office receives sufficient evidence from an attorney for the state. A driver’s license is seen as a privilege, which may be revoked if it’s in the public’s best interest to promote safe highways.
Getting Car Insurance After a DUI in Illinois
Everyone makes mistakes, even potentially dangerous ones such as driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Unfortunately, obtaining automobile coverage after a DUI in Illinois can be challenging. Many insurance companies are privately owned, so the law allows them to deny coverage to drivers they believe are too hazardous to insure. In addition, Illinois has a permanent look-back period, which exacerbates this challenge for drivers.
Since you’re almost guaranteed to face increased insurance rates after a DUI, shopping around for the best rates is essential. American Auto Insurance offers affordable coverage for all drivers, including those charged with a DUI or those needing SR-22 coverage due to their license being suspended.
What Is SR-22 Coverage?
Being charged with a DUI may result in the revocation or suspension of your driver’s license. If this happens, the Illinois Secretary of State’s office will notify you that you need an SR-22 policy, which not all insurance companies provide. However, American Auto Insurance offers affordable SR-22 coverage throughout the state so you can continue driving. Once you’ve finalized your policy, we’ll electronically file an SR-22 form with the Secretary of State’s office to ensure it’s done quickly and easily. Once your SR-22 has been processed, the state will notify you.
SR-22 coverage is a form of insurance that satisfies a state-ordered certificate of financial responsibility for specific drivers. This certificate will prove that your auto insurance policy meets state requirements. If your license is suspended or revoked due to a DUI, SR-22 may be necessary to reinstate your driver’s license.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Coverage Cost?
SR-22 coverage is intended for high-risk drivers. It’s also not offered by many insurance companies, so you’ll likely experience an increase in your insurance cost. The cost of an SR-22 insurance coverage policy varies depending on factors such as your location, age, and driving history. Our insurance experts believe everyone is entitled to low-cost insurance regardless of their driving record. If you’re a resident of Illinois, you can contact American Auto Insurance today at 773-286-3500 for your free SR-22 quote.
Contact American Auto Insurance Today
If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence in Illinois, please don’t wait to contact American Auto Insurance. A knowledgeable member of our insurance team can help you get a quote for coverage. You can get your free quote and instant coverage by completing our secure online form or calling us at 773-286-3500. Let American Auto Insurance get you the coverage you deserve at affordable pricing, regardless of your driving history.